The life of a corporate portrait photographer who likes to shoot just about anything.

Corbis + Costco = More Bad News

I’m a member of Costco as I’m sure a lot of you are. I like the savings and it has a photo division that I use for smaller projects. With the celebration of Thanksgiving this week, I was naturally distracted when my issue of “The Costco Connection” arrived in the mail. But on Saturday night, after a great day in New York City, something on the cover caught my attention. It was a travel photo with the caption “Picture This! Corbis Images from Costco photo centers”.

Rather than repeat what I read, let me provide a few highlights (direct from the magazine) – “the images have been curated specifically for and licensed to Costco by Corbis Images. For Costco members, there is no additional charge for the use of the images from the Art & Images Gallery collection. ‘The beauty of it is that Costco members can use these top images for all kinds of decorating projects and even for resale’ says Glen Hutchinson. Possible uses (and I’m paraphrasing here) ‘include anything for home or for business’.

Wow. So now anyone can pick a photo, make a 100  8×10 prints at $1.49 each and RESELL them without any of the profit given to the original photographer. Businesses, large and small, can save BIG when they need images to decorate the walls of their properties. Again I say, WOW!

I realize that the choice of photographs dedicated to this offer are probably small, however at one time RF was small and Microstock didn’t exist. So, with a little imagination, where will we be in a few years?

8 responses

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Corbis + Costco = More Bad News « New Jersey Photographer Rich Green -- Topsy.com

  2. Ugh! It’s getting weirder and weirder every year in this biz.

    November 30, 2010 at 6:25 pm

  3. Yuck.

    November 30, 2010 at 6:33 pm

  4. Film and Paper prints are looking better every day…

    November 30, 2010 at 7:20 pm

  5. One more reason I’m glad I never went with the big agencies and have never sold RF or microstock. Evostock all the way!

    November 30, 2010 at 8:46 pm

  6. I got wind of this deal through a friend in Seattle who used to work for Corbis. Looks like another case of the artist getting the shaft. I have 70-75 images that have been released to Costco and I am not pleased with the arrangement between Corbis and Costco. I have tried unsuccessfully to get in touch with my rep at Corbis. No one seems to be home. This is a slap in the face and as far as I can tell a breach of contract by Corbis. Looks like a class action law suite to me.


          

    December 2, 2010 at 8:41 pm

  7. Pingback: Francis Vachon » Friday links and news

  8. Wow is right! This sounds like a job for an advocacy group, like Stock Artists Alliance, or ASMP. This deal undermines the very essence of copyright. If it’s not a breach of contract with contributors, it darn will should be, and the contract needs changed!

    February 7, 2011 at 5:17 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 782 other followers