The life of a corporate portrait photographer who likes to shoot just about anything.

The Comet is Coming!

The above photograph was taken in 1997 of Comet Hale-Bopp from my backyard. I had my Olympus OM-1 camera loaded with B&W film connected to my Celestron telescope. I took a series of shots, and not being sure of the exposure, timed them from 30 seconds to 2 minutes. Also timing those exposures was done the old-fashioned way because I didn’t have a watch with a second hand. I had to count  – 1 mississippi, 2 mississippi, etc. The film was developed and the photo printed in my darkroom.

2 responses

  1. Gosh this takes me back – I was watched this Comet for a couple of nights using binoculars, on the top of a mountain without light pollution! It was a fantastic sight; looking at your photograph, I am sure you will agree…

    David.

    June 7, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    • Yes I do. I didn’t know it was coming but discovered the comet using astronomy software called “Starry Night”. I was able to pinpoint the best days to take some photos and, thank God, the sky was clear. Thanks for visiting my blog.

      June 7, 2012 at 7:30 pm

Leave a Reply

