The life of a corporate portrait photographer who likes to shoot just about anything.

Stock Photographer and the Business

Monument Valley Stock Photography

The stock photography market isn’t what it used to be. I am an assignment photographer who came into the field after most of the bombs had dropped – RF, Micro – and knowing that I wasn’t going to make a living off of it. So my approach has been to keep costs down, submitting images that I take locally, on vacation or assignments, or from my files. I also approach stock photography as a way to experiment and practice my craft. I believe that being a photographer is like being a musician – practice! So during the times when paid commissions are slow, I’ll fill some of the time with self-assignments for stock.
On my website, on the stock photo page, I have written – “I have a growing collection of images on view at Mira (Search – Richard Green) and Alamy. The subjects cover lifestyle, medical, people and travel. If there is a specialized subject that you need photographed, please contact me directly and maybe I have it on file in my office, or I can produce the assignment for you.” I’m not sure that anybody will contact me, but my images are being licensed.

I would enjoy feedback from any stock photographers out there. How are you holding up in today’s market?

The photograph above was made in Monument Valley, Arizona/Utah, USA. For me, one of the most beautiful places on Earth.

2 responses

  1. Lovely to see this beautiful photograph. It reminded me of our fabulous road trip last September. Thank you 🙂

    June 14, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    • Thank you for the kind words. I love the American West, especially Monument Valley.

      June 14, 2012 at 4:34 pm

Leave a Reply

