The life of a corporate portrait photographer who likes to shoot just about anything.

Dressing for Work

Clown

We all have our business suits. For me, it depends on my photography assignment. If I am heading off to a warehouse, I wear jeans. If I am meeting with a corporate client to discuss a project, I might wear a tie or business casual. Then we have the gentleman in the photograph. I didn’t see a circus nearby so questions are raised. Is he a banker or a panhandler with an attitude? Which brings up another thought. Dressing incorrectly for a job can get you in a lot of trouble. If I were a banker and showed up naked or dressed as a woman, I would probably be fired on the spot. But if I showed up dressed as a clown, I would also probably be fired. Why? I’m not naked or wearing a dress. The color scheme is loud but it’s not provocative. It could be stated that it’s conservative. I do have a tie on. So there we have it. You can’t dress as a clown unless you really ARE a clown. Isn’t that discrimination?

Leave a Reply

